Iaido Beginners

Discuss your hobby with other sword enthusiasts

Moderators: Big Lazy, Moderators

kirisute

Iaido Beginners

Postby kirisute » Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:29 am

I've been training and teaching Iaido for about 8 years now....and my sensei always advocated the use of "live" blades from the very start of training....why? simply due to the fact that instantly the beginner student is aware of the fact that the sword is dangerous...and as such gains respect for the technique and the blade right from day one....

over the years i have met other teachers/students with similar views...and some quite the opposite....

what is peoples view on the matter here? Are there any iaido practitioners who would not dream of practicing with a live blade but always use Iaito? or vice versa?

its an interesting topic to discuss and id be interested in your thoughts.....

Moon

Postby Moon » Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:50 pm

What Ryuha would it be that you study and instruct Iai,at what dojo under which sensei? :S
"Wise men speak because they have something to say: fools because they have to say something"...Plato

kirisute

Postby kirisute » Fri Jan 11, 2008 9:14 pm

Eishin Ryu~Sensei Coley (deceased)~privately taught.....
originally Sensei Coley was trained near Michigan along with others at the dojo of Sensei Suino.
I have no reason to discount his teaching or his qualifications...i know he taught me well, was disciplined and what i consider to be one of the greatest sensei i have trained under.

you seem to be concerned about this.......please express them we are all on a path of learning and i am always willing to learn more

cybernex

RE:

Postby cybernex » Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:11 pm

Eishin Ryu, Thats the style the great Masayuki Shimabukuro teaches.

If i get some transport of my own this year I'm going to finally get round to taking up IAI, but knowing my luck even with my experence of doing Koshirae i'll still have to use a bokken for a while.