need advice

Post your questions or seek advice on anything relating to swords

Moderators: Big Lazy, Moderators

HurrIcanE

need advice

Post by HurrIcanE » Fri Mar 02, 2007 6:55 pm

ok, so im new to swords and everything and need some advice, at the moment i want a sword mainly for display.
i have been looking mainly for a sword that i think looks good and is stainless steel so i dont have to worry about constant cleaning
i dont have much money to spend, about £40
i have looked at the skull and crossbones katana on page 2 of samurai swords and the silver katana on the same page.
are these any good and are they full tang blades?
if some one could help me with this or suggest another one for around £40 that would be great

many thanks
HurrIcanE

Barry the Time Sprout

Post by Barry the Time Sprout » Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:05 pm

if youre looking at SS wallhangers i woulnt worry about the tang. its likely that they will all be around the same quality so just go for whichever you prefer the look of.

HurrIcanE

Post by HurrIcanE » Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:11 pm

Ok thanks :D

Blackbird

Post by Blackbird » Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:02 pm

Basically mate if yer after summat purely for display the only limit is what yer willing to spend :D

Moon

Re: need advice

Post by Moon » Fri Mar 02, 2007 10:12 pm

HurrIcanE wrote:ok, so im new to swords and everything and need some advice, at the moment i want a sword mainly for display.
Welcome to the boards.
I don't want to appear as being negative but the word "mainly" concerns me a little in as much that it strikes me as implying that you may want to take it off display and thrash it about in the air and while this in itself is relatively harmless,or should be,please remember that SS wallhangers are precisely that,they're decorative items only and those of us who've been around the block a few times know only too well what can happen if and when they accidently strike another object.