Real Japanese Iaito swords

Post your questions or seek advice on anything relating to swords

Moderators: Big Lazy, Moderators

Konata_Izumi

Real Japanese Iaito swords

Post by Konata_Izumi » Sun Jul 29, 2007 7:35 am

Good morning everybody! I am a newbie and this is my first post!

Having spent a few years in the UK as a student I always wanted to buy a nice katana but couldn't afford one. Now that I will be returning, I find out that they are going to ban them.. :-x

Having read most of the related threads on the subject, I have a couple of questions/suggestions..

Firstly, let me mention that I was never too happy with the Chen katanas. I want a real-authentic katana to proudly display in my living room. I always believed that the Chen katanas don't really look the part. If you 've seen some real japanese examples, you quickly realise that Chen katanas get some basic things wrong. Usually the curvature, tsuka shape & length, kissaki, and the fittings.

Since the ban will probably make them dissapear from the UK market, I searched the net for alternatives. This is when I came across japanese-made iaito swords. These are katanas that have zinc alloy blades and are used for the martial art Iaido. While you cannot cut with them, they have some major advantages...

Everything else is of the quality and style that you would find in a real nihonto. They look the part, and their fittings are of the highest quality. So for somebody that wants a katana for display reasons, it is a very atractive aspect. Because the blades are really cheap to make, these swords are fitted with the kind of fittings that you would never dream of in a Chen katana. And they are made from the same people that make the real katanas in Japan, so you get a true Japanese artifact.