Help me choose a Katana

Post your questions or seek advice on anything relating to swords

Moderators: Big Lazy, Moderators

Lone Wolf

Help me choose a Katana

Post by Lone Wolf » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:43 pm

Hello I'm a noob.

Anyway I've all ways wanted a proper Katana, I've had those really cheap 3 piece sets before and I have a cheap ninja sword, but I've finally decided to bite the bullet and pay for one that I can be proud of and enjoy looking at forever. As I'm sure you can tell I don't practice martial arts it's purely for looks and quality.

I'm liking the looks of the Paul Chen Tsunami, Professional Orchid and Practical Plus Katanas.

Can someone please tell me which one looks the nicest in real life?

Thanks

Geordie Ross

Re: Help me choose a Katana

Post by Geordie Ross » Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:53 pm

It's dependant on your price range really, out of the 3 you mentioned the orchid katana is by a landslide the best, but by two landslides the most expensive! It's a fairly petite sword (small and slender) but its very good looking! Also in a higher price range the Bushido is one to note, it's folded steel like the orchid and creates stunning patterns in the steel. But for one i can vouch for, as i own it and it's a super bargain at £325 and is better looking (in my opinion) is the tori XL katana it's reduced as its fairly rusted though, so be warned. And if money is truely no limit go for the kami. I've dribbled over videos of that. But for a very nice affordable piece the practical plus is the one for you. Beautiful balance and grip with a genuine hamon (wavey line on edge) the fittings are very decorative for its price.

Lone Wolf

Post by Lone Wolf » Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:40 pm