Help!! Strange Marks on the blade.

Post your questions or seek advice on anything relating to swords

Moderators: Big Lazy, Moderators

Wildfire

Help!! Strange Marks on the blade.

Post by Wildfire » Tue Sep 07, 2004 10:37 am

Hi
I'm new to sword collection and have a Paul Chen Practical Katana. In an attempt to clean the balde my girlfriend used some metal polish on it and then re oiled it. But I now have some strange brass/yellow coloured marks on the blade??

What's the best way to get rid of these??

Thanks

Logan

Post by Logan » Tue Sep 07, 2004 10:42 am

:shock: Dude, metal polish was a bad idea mate.

It has corrosive properties which carbon steel (the metal your blade is made from) does not agree with. The marks are no doubt due to this.

You should only ever clean the blade with a dry oily rag and only apply oil to the sword - no polish.

I'd await Darsun's reply to your post for advice on what to do, I have no idea I'm afraid. Hope it can be sorted.

Wildfire

Post by Wildfire » Tue Sep 07, 2004 11:03 am

Oh man!! I hope it can be reversed!!

NenMaster

Post by NenMaster » Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:36 pm

it shouldnt be that bad if u clean it with that, but do it every time, expect a fooked blade

Wildfire

Post by Wildfire » Tue Sep 07, 2004 1:07 pm

So what's the best option to get rid of the weird marks? I'll try an dtake a pic tonight, I ran out of Hanwei oil as well, so have just ordered some. Had to use vegtable oil last night! :cry:

Logan

Post by Logan » Tue Sep 07, 2004 1:13 pm

Best thing to do is take some pictures of the marks and post them here. Use http://www.imageshack.us to host them. Await Darksun's response.

Wildfire

Post by Wildfire » Tue Sep 07, 2004 1:30 pm

Cheers guys. I'm new to the swords thing. I've always wanted one and now am able to afford one as well as being allowed one having moved out to my own flat. My parents weren't too keen on having one in the house.

Solutech

Post by Solutech » Tue Sep 07, 2004 3:26 pm